Jay Fields’ Thoughts: How I Open Source

“I still remember my first open-source project: I didn’t tell a soul about it until I had used it in production for over a year and was very confident that I’d addressed the majority of common use cases. It was a .net object relational mapper called NORM, and it was released in 2005. No, you haven’t ever heard of it. I polished it for months, and no one cared. After that I never waited to release anything. I now believe that it’s highly unlikely that whatever I create will ever gain any traction, so I might as well get it out there, fail quickly, and move on.”

tags: opensource

Jay Fields’ Thoughts: How I Open Source

Leave a Reply

